

The letter was sent on 30 January 2024 with the support of over 60 CEOs. Since then, even more have joined the call – see the list below

€7 billion at risk: publish EU heat pump action plan today

Dear President von der Leyen,

In 2022, the European Commission put the heat pump sector in the spotlight by highlighting its importance for greater independence from fossil energy under REPowerEU. It proposed ambitious Ecodesign and Energy Performance of Buildings legislation with clear pathways for heat pumps.

With the ambition at EU level clear, and the heat pump demand booming, the sector planned investments in factories, production, R&D and training worth €7 billion to 2025 alone.

With the urgent need to decarbonise heating and cooling, the heat pump sector will be one of the most critical European net zero industries on the EU's path to 2050.

Yet sales are falling: Instead of double-digit growth for 2023 the sector is experiencing <u>a double-digit decline</u> in the last quarter of 2023 compared to 2022. This decline has come about because gas prices have fallen while electricity prices remain high and there are still tax breaks on fossil fuels and on boilers running solely on fossil fuels. In many countries, the energy transition in heating has been made into a political issue – as a result, ambitions have been lowered and end-users become uncertain and prefer to stick to the status quo.

It is crucial to boost the heat pump market by continued commitment to the technology, stable policies, strong consistent and forward-looking measures and a market environment shaped towards making clean technologies the ones that are economically most attractive. A strong heat pump market will allow Europeans to reap the benefits: decarbonisation, job creation, a competitive clean tech industry, energy independence and lower energy bills.

We <u>had expected</u> the announced heat pump action plan to bring together these measures in order to reap the many benefits. We were surprised, <u>if not dismayed</u>, by the European Commission's unexpected decision to delay the publication of the heat pump action plan until after the EU elections. This is exactly the opposite of the economic and ambitious political framework needed to shape a strong home market for a successful industry.

Postponing the heat pump action plan challenges the accelerated deployment of technologies crucial for achieving Europe's energy and climate targets as well as investments in industrial production in Europe affecting the over 160,000 current and many more future jobs in manufacturing and installation.

In the US, the <u>ambitious IRA</u> provides continuity, legal stability, and generous financial support for heat pumps. Postponing the EU plan risks jeopardising Europe's industrial leadership on net zero technologies, just as the US, <u>Asia and other regions</u> are also ramping up their commitments on clean and heat pump technologies.

Instead of postponing the heat pump action plan we, over 60 CEOs and industry leaders call on you to set it in motion immediately to put Europe back on track for the energy transition as well as for energy independence and climate neutrality.

We kindly ask for your support and commitment to pursue the net zero transition in the heating sector. We remain at your disposal for further discussion and support to make the Action Plan a success. We are looking forward to participating in the forthcoming clean transition dialogues.

Yours sincerely,

Martin Forsén
President of the European Heat Pump Association (EHPA)
Nibe SA



Directly supporting industry leaders:

Marta San Román – Director General, **AFEC - Asociación de Fabricantes de Equipos de Climatización**

François Deroche - President, AFPAC - Association Française pour les Pompes à Chaleur

John Ormerod - Managing Director Europe, A-Gas

Martin Lewerth - CEO, Aira

Sjacco Van de Sande – Managing Director, AIT Group

Arthur Jian Chien – CEO, Ares Group

Nuno Roque - Secretary General, APIRAC - Associação Portuguesa das Empresas dos Sectores

Paolo Merloni – Executive Chairman, Ariston Group

Yselkla Farmer, CEO - BEAMA

Michiel Hartman, CEO - Blue Heart Energy

Martin Sabel - Managing Director, Bundesverband Wärmepumpe (BWP)

Jan Dhaenens - Managing Director, Cairox

Francesco Nalini – CEO, Carel Industries SpA

Thomas Heim - President, Residential & Light Commercial HVAC EMEA, Carrier

Didier Genois - Vice President & General Manager CHVAC EMEA, Carrier

Mark Newman - President and Chief Executive Officer, Chemours

Stefano Bellò - CEO, Clivet

Sandro Matic – President, Copeland Europe

Vladimir Soldo - Chairman, Croatian Heat Pump Association

Patrick Crombez - General Manager Heating and Renewables, Daikin Europe

Jürgen Fischer – President, **Danfoss Climate Solutions**

Carsten Wolff - CEO, Diehl

Pierre Boyer - President, Differentia

Bart De Bruycker – CEO, **Dirac Industries**

Babak Tighnavard – CEO, **DREM**

Jorge Rodríguez-Quintana – CEO, **Ecoforest**

Helene Richmond – Managing Director, **Enertech AB (CTC)**



Russell Patten - Director General, EPEE

Peter Cerny - CEO, ESBE

Fergal Leamy – CEO, **Glen Dimplex**

German Peralta - Co-CEO, GoNido

Ken Gordon – CEO, Ground Source Heat Pump Association

Damien Carroz - General Manager, Groupe Atlantic

Morten Bach Jensen – CEO, Grundfos Domestic Building Services Division

Francisco Perez – CEO, **Grupo Flexicel**

Thomas Vaughan – CEO, GS Renewable

Bob Cowlard - General Manager European HVAC, Haier

Charlotte Lee - CEO, Heat Pump Association UK

Bean Beanland - Director for Growth & External Affairs - Heat Pump Federation

Jeroen Koot - CEO, Heaten

Christoph Bacher - Managing Director, iDM Energiesysteme GmbH

Marc Vandiepenbeeck - VP & President Building Solutions EMEALA, Office of the Chairman & CEO, **Johnson Controls**

Floor Moerland-Kwik – CEO, Joule Investments Group

Pal Kiss – President, MAHÖSZ Hungarian Heat Pump Association

Georgi Chimev – CEO, Mareli Systems

Shunji Kurita – President & CEO, Mitsubishi Electric Europe

Ryoichi Kariya - Managing Director, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air-Conditioning Europe, Ltd

Rolf Iver Mytting Hagemoen - Secretary General, Norwegian Heat Pump Association

Karl Ochsner – Chairman, Ochsner Wärmepumpen

Enrique Vilamitjana - Managing Director PHVACEU, Panasonic

Paweł Lachman - President of the Board, **Polish Organization of Heat Pump Technology Development**

Fredrik Rosenqvist – CEO, **Qvantum Industries**

Brooke Lang - Executive Vice President and President, Power Efficiency Solutions, **Regal Rexnord**

Wim Vangeenberghe - President, Samsung Electronics Air Conditioner Europe



Ilan Peleg - General Manager, Sanhua International

Tim Hamacher – Managing Director, SPH Sustainable Process Heat

Anders Mårtensson – CEO, **Swedish Refrigeration & Heat Pump Association**

Andreas Örje Wellstam - President and Chief Executive Officer, Swegon

Kai Schiefelbein - CEO, Stiebel Eltron

Jure Šacer - CEO, Termoshop

Zhechko Kyurkchiev – CEO, TESY

Xavier Gorgemans – CEO, **Trane Belgium**

Jose La Loggia - Group President EMEA, Trane Technologies

Menno van der Hoff - Chief Executive Director, Triple Aqua Licensing

Paolo Bertuzzi - CEO, Turboden

Norbert Schiedeck - CEO, Vaillant Group

Frank Agterberg – Chair, Vereniging Warmtepompen

Marc Wucherer - CEO, ZIEHL-ABEGG

Federico Zoppas - CEO, Zoppas Industries

Sent to:

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen

In copy:

Commissioner for Energy, Kadri Simson

Executive Vice-President for the European Green Deal, Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight, **Maroš Šefčovič**

Commissioner for Internal Market, Thierry Breton

Commissioner for Climate Action, Wopke Hoekstra

